Millersville University Governance & Policies

Effective: October 1997

University Governance FACULTY GRANTS COMMITTEE

Approved: October 1997 Revised: October 19, 2007 MU/APSCUF-MU Meet & Discuss

The Faculty Grants Committee is a University committee that has been established by the Millersville University/APSCUF-MU Meet and Discuss committee.

Membership

The Faculty Grants Committee consists of nine (9) voting faculty members who are elected and one (1) voting administrative representative, appointed by the Provost. Minimum membership includes:

- 1. Two (2) faculty members from each of the four (4) academic units of the University (Education, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science & Mathematics), and one (1) member from the non-school faculty, all elected for three-year staggered terms by their constituent unit faculties. The Dean of the appropriate unit conducts the election at the end of the spring semester. Terms of appointment begin at the start of the following fall semester, by which time the previous committee will have completed its review of the proposals submitted in the most recent cycle of applications.
 - No two (2) members on the committee may be from any one department and no faculty member may serve consecutive terms.
- A member of Deans' Council, appointed by the Provost, with no defined term of service.
- 3. The committee elects a chairperson from among its members who has served at least one (1) year on the committee at the time of taking office. The chairperson serves for a one-year renewal term. The election takes place during the spring semester, and the term begins at the start of the fall semester.

Functions

 The committee evaluates applications from the faculty for grants for research; publication; individual and group travel to present scholarly or creative works; release time; special academic activities, including workshops, institutes, or short courses; and overseas travel to present and engage in special academic activities. In addition, other categories of support may be considered as recommended by the committee with administrative approval. The committee submits to the University President a list of awards within the funding allocation designated to the committee.

- 2. There are three (3) cycles for proposals each year: October 1, March 1, and June 1.
- 3. Application grants are submitted on forms prepared by the committee.
- 4. The committee requests and evaluates reports to be submitted by each grantee within one (1) year of the receipt of a grant.
- 5. The committee compiles an annual report on its activities and submits copies to the University President and to the President of APSCUF-MU. The committee provides the Provost with a complete list of all decisions for each cycle. Each applicant is notified of the decision by a letter signed by both the Provost and the committee chair.
- 6. The committee investigates means by which creative and scholarly activities may be fostered.

Modifications

Modifications of the committee require agreement at Millersville University/APSCUF-MU Meet and Discuss for final determination.

University Governance: Faculty Grants Committee Page 2 of 2