IAEM Student Chapter

Student Chapter of the Year

2017-2018 Officers

The Millersville University’s Student Chapter of the International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM) has been selected to receive the 2017 International Association of Emergency Managers Student Chapter of the Year Award.  The Student Chapter of the Year Award recognizes an IAEM-registered student chapter which has made significant contributions in promoting IAEM, the Student Council and the field of emergency management through public awareness, increasing membership, showing leadership and initiative in education, and increasing the professionalism of emergency and disaster management.  The Chapter will be presented with the award at the IAEM 2017 Annual Conference (Nov 10-15, 2017) in Long Beach, CA.  A number of the officers including Andrew Yarosh, Katie Prichard and Jessica Stokes will attend the meeting to receive this award.  This is the second time that the chapter has received this award since its establishment in 2010.  Dr. Sepi Yalda serves as the Chapter’s faculty adviser. 


The mission of International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM) is to serve its members by providing information, networking and professional opportunities, and to advance the emergency management profession.

Today, IAEM continues to drive the development of the profession of emergency management through its promotion of the Principles of Emergency ManagementCertified Emergency Manager (CEM®) Program and IAEM Scholarship Program. The Student Council now has chapters at universities around the world and works to engage with future professionals as they choose their career paths.

Facebook          Get Involved          google+

To Join the IAEM Millersville University Student Chapter:

1. Search for the International Association of Emergency Managers using Get Involved (https://getinvolved.millersville.edu/). 

2. Click "Join Organization"

3. Join us online or in person on campus on the designated Tuesday each month during the fall and spring semester at 8:30pm.  Instructions on how to join these meetings can be found below.

To Join the National IAEM:

1. Go to the "Join IAEM" portion of the IAEM Website. Click here

2. Click "Join Online Today!"

3. Fill out the required information. Student membership costs $40 per year.

Attending the Meetings

In D2L
If you are an MSEM student, the online room is available under the MSEM EMGT Graduate Program course in D2L.  Simply go to the MSEM course page, choose "Communication" then "Collaborate Ultra" and join the "MU-IAEM Student Chapter Meeting 2017-2018" room.  

Any Computer
If you are NOT an MSEM student, to join the meeting follow this LINK.  Enter your name as you would like it to appear.

Local IAEM Chapter at Millersville University

2017-2018 Local Chapter Officers:

Position Name E-Mail
President Katie Prichard


Vice President Adam Roser


Undergraduate Vice President Amanda Dobrowski


Secretary Jessica Stokes


Treasurer Adam Weiner 


Monthly Meetings:

Meetings for the local chapter are typically held online and in person on campus on the designated Tuesday each month during the fall and spring semesters.  Meetings take place in Osburn 216 and begin at 8:30pm (eastern time) usually accompanied by a blend of guest speakers in the Emergency Management field, round-table discussions, and information on upcoming hands-on training exercises or educational opportunities.  Round-table discussions will consist of topics such as "What went right/wrong in a recent disaster & how could we improve?" to the ongoing Education vs. Experience debate many students face upon graduation.  The MU-IAEM chapter is open to all graduate and undergraduate students with an interest in learning more about preparedness and the emergency management field.

Spring 2018 Semester Meetings:

Tuesday, February 6th - Osburn 216 at 8:30pm

Tuesday, March 6th - Osburn 216 at 8:30pm

Tuesday, April 3rd - Osburn 216 at 8:30pm

Tuesday, May 1st - Osburn 216 at 8:30pm

2014 IAEM Student Chapter of the Year:

On the heels of a successful year in the chapter’s history thanks to a plethora of esteemed Emergency Management speakers and many other accomplishments, the chapter received the well-regarded IAEM 2014 “Student Chapter of the Year” award.  Under the supervision of Dr. Duane Hagelgans, numerous initiatives related to the club were implemented including upgrading from the existing Blackboard virtual classroom platform to a more user-friendly Google Hangouts setup.  Other improvements have been to substitute some of the outside speakers for a more engaging “Open Forum” a Town-hall meeting of sorts in which those in attendance can openly discuss issues related to Emergency Management and come up with practical solutions.

IAEM San Antonio

(2014-2015 MU-IAEM Chapter President Daniel Berndt accepts
the Chapter of the Year award at the IAEM Conference in San Antonio)