Faculty Senate Minutes February 5, 2013

The meeting was called to order at 4:10 p.m. All departments were in attendance except Art & Design, Educational Foundations, and Government & Political Affairs.

I. Minutes of previous meeting

The minutes of the December 4, 2012 meeting of the Faculty Senate were approved as written.

II. Proposed Courses and Programs

(1) CHANGE IN UNDERGRADUATE COURSE

ESCI 423: Applied Geophysics, 3 credits. Proposal to change the course name, catalog description, and pre-requisites was approved without dissent.

III. Report of the Faculty Senate Chairperson

Faculty Senate Chair Börger-Greco welcomed senators back. Dr. Becky Mowrey announced APSCUF has appointed a joint committee (Drs. Chuck Ward, Becky Mowrey, Ron Frankum, Ana Börger-Greco, Nazli Hardy, Aimee Miller) to develop policy for campus-wide approval of curricular issues and that the planned APSCUF meeting will be modified in light of recent developments with the contract negotiation.

Mr. Dwight Horsey highlighted trends in student financial needs and encouraged faculty to counsel students to contact the Financial Aid Office for help in identifying ways to fund education costs. He noted new standards (earning credit for 75% of courses rather than acquiring 24 new credits per year) being implemented to evaluate whether students are making satisfactory academic progress and efforts to educate students regarding positive financial strategies. Financial Aid representatives are willing to visit freshman seminar courses to discuss money issues. The availability of advice specific to veterans was noted and these students may find additional resourcing at Mercer House or through the Student Veteran Association. Additionally, student needs for food and security are also being considered. Reverend Kirstin Shrom-Rhoads is heading up a Campus Cupboard food bank at First United Methodist Church (A-frame) in Millersville. Interested faculty are encouraged to donate funds that can be used for purchasing supplies.

IV. Report of the Student Senate

None

V. Report of the Graduate Student Association

None

VI. Report of the Administrative Officers

Acting President

Acting President McCollum reported on efforts to provide a steady environment on campus during the leadership transition until Dr. Anderson arrives on campus. Concern was raised about the negative impact of PASSHE-APSCUF negotiation process.

Provost

Provost Prabhu reported on approval of the Multidiscplinary BA degree and the proposed faculty contract reached by the Negotiations Team. He also encouraged faculty to attend the spring convocation with Dr. James Hilton on February 28 to discuss issues arising in higher education.

Vice President for Student Affairs

Dr. Breaux noted the focus on holistic health and wellness of students and assessment of programs and services available. She also announced addition of Mr. Ron Waife in Judicial Affairs and Ms. Allison Yarrow in Campus Recreation. Dr. Breaux noted relatively few flu cases on campus but many GI issues and thanked faculty for dealing with student illnesses without Student Health Services issuing excuses. Concerns were raised about several security issues in and around campus. All MU community members are urged to be aware of safety and act prudently. In addition to Police, safety concerns can be directed to the Threat Assessment Team. APSCUF can also assist faculty with issues related to a safe working environment.

VII. Reports of the Faculty Senate Standing Committees

UCPRC

(1) CHANGE IN UNDERGRADUATE COURSE

BUAD 201/321: Introduction to International Business, 3 credits, G3. Proposal to change the course number from 201 to 321.

(2) CHANGE IN UNDERGRADUATE COURSE

BUAD 452: Operations and Supply Chain Management, 3 credits. Proposal to change the course title and pre-requisites.

(3) NEW UNDERGRADUATE COURSE

SOCY 301: Craft of Sociology, 3 credits, G3, W. Proposal for course to explore the technical and analytical skills needed for practicing the craft of sociology.

(4) CHANGE TO UNDERGRADUATE CURRICULUM

BA Sociology. Proposal to require completion of SOCY 301 rather than SOCY 448 for the major.

(5) CHANGE TO UNDERGRADUATE CURRICULUM

BA Sociology/Criminology. Proposal to require completion of SOCY 301 rather than SOCY 448 or Co-op/Internship for the major.

<u>APC</u>

Senator A. Miller requested any additional feedback on the proposed structure for new courses.

GCPRC/UCPRC/APC

Dr. Mowrey noted the curriculum bodies are discussing how best to integrate the resource aspect of curricular proposals with the approval process. Dr. Prabhu noted the advantage of input from deans early in the process. The greater need for budget planning in program development was also noted.

VIII. Reports of the Faculty Senate Special Committees

None

IX. Faculty Emeriti

None

X. Election of Senate Officers for 2013-2014

A Grant/Wushanley motion to close nominations and elect Dr. Aimee Miller as Secretary for 2013-2014 was approved without dissent.

An Anderson/Grant motion to close nominations and elect Dr. Shaun Cook as Chair Pro Tempore for 2013-2014 was approved without dissent.

A Wushanley/A. Miller motion to close nominations and elect Dr. Ana Börger-Greco as Chair for 2013-2014 was approved without dissent.

XI. Other/New Business

Mr. Joe Sciaretta reported on MU-Transitions, MU-Bridges, and MU-180 retention initiatives. He noted that freshmen falling below a 2.0 GPA were enrolled in an MU-180 no-credit seminar to provide guidance on academic success. Faculty advisors will be notified and encouraged to follow up with these at-risk students.

Meeting was adjourned at 5:25 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Aimee L. Miller Faculty Senate Secretary

Action Summary:

The minutes of the December 4, 2012 meeting of the Faculty Senate were approved as written.

(1) CHANGE IN UNDERGRADUATE COURSE

ESCI 423: Applied Geophysics, 3 credits. Proposal to change the course name, catalog description, and pre-requisites was approved without dissent.

A Grant/Wushanley motion to close nominations and elect Dr. Aimee Miller as Secretary for 2013-2014 was approved without dissent.

An Anderson/Grant motion to close nominations and elect Dr. Shaun Cook as Chair Pro Tempore for 2013-2014 was approved without dissent.

A Wushanley/A. Miller motion to close nominations and elect Dr. Ana Börger-Greco as Chair for 2013-2014 was approved without dissent.