Dr. Anita Renfroe

Dr. Anita Renfroe

Dr. Anita Renfroe

Professor of Piano

Office: VPAC 211
Phone: 717-871-7519

Additional Information

Anita Boyle Renfroe, Professor of Music & Director of Keyboard Studies at Millersville University, earned her degrees in piano performance-the Bachelor of Music from Florida State University, the Master of Music from Memphis State University, and the Doctor of Musical Arts from the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary School of Music in Louisville, Kentucky. Dr. Renfroe's key teachers and mentors include Webster Teague, Leonard Mastrogiacomo, Edward Kilenyi, Daniel Fletcher, Carolyn Fruchtman, Maurice Hinson, and Nelita True.

Piano and harpsichord performances take Dr. Renfroe throughout the United States and Europe. Concert venues in Europe include performances in Heidelberg, Frankfort, and Stuttgart, Germany as well as Grenoble and Nohant, France. Renfroe's solos recitals in Washington D.C. include the Kennedy Center Terrace Theater, Wolf Trap Center for the Performing Arts, the Organization of American States, the National Air and Space Museum, the World Bank, the British Embassy, the Folger Library, as piano soloist with the Fairfax Chamber Orchestra and as organ soloist with the Arlington Symphony Orchestra.  Recent performances in the Mid-Atlantic region include harpsichord and piano concerts in Williamsburg, VA, Bethlehem, PA and  throughout central Pennsylvania.

Dr. Renfroe is a featured artist, clinician, and adjudicator for state and national conventions, including the Music Teachers National Association (MTNA) and the National Conference on Keyboard Pedagogy. She has been awarded permanent Professional and Mater Teacher certificates from the Music Teachers National Association and is a member of the Pi Kappa Lambda and Alpha Lambda Delta Music Honor Societies. Grants and awards during her tenure at Millersville University include a Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education grant for research on Mendelssohn at Oxford University's Bodleian Library and a sabbatical to research the French composer, Eugene Nollet.   Her current research is focused on the study and performance of music composed for the fortepiano.

Vera Volchansky, violin
Madeleine Darmiento, viola
Emilio Colon, cello
Anita Renfroe, piano