Dr. Christy Banks

Dr. Christy Banks

Dr. Christy Banks

Assistant Chair, Associate Professor of Music, Coordinator of Woodwinds

Office: WVPAC 216
Phone: 717-871-4173

Office Hours

M: 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
T: 2:30 pm - 4:00 pm
W: 8:30 am - 9:30 am / 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
R: 10:30 am - 11:00 am
Comments: Additional Hours by Appointment

Additional Information

Christy Banks is Associate Professor of Music (Clarinet and Saxophone) at Millersville University of Pennsylvania where she also serves as Assistant Chair of the Music Department.  Prior to her appointment to the Millersville University Music Faculty in 2005, Dr. Banks previously taught clarinet, saxophone, and related music courses at Nebraska Wesleyan University, Concordia University, Doane College, Union College, and Peru State College. A former member of the Lincoln Symphony and the Nebraska Chamber Players, Banks has performed with the PA Philharmonic, the Harrisburg, Lancaster, and Reading Symphonies, Pennsylvania Sinfonia, Allegro Chamber Orchestra, and Opera Lancaster.  She has appeared as a recitalist/soloist throughout the US as well as in Italy, Austria, Germany, and China. Passionate about new music, Banks is a member of the Spatial Forces Duo and the Lancaster-based NakedEye Ensemble.  Banks has performed/presented at the International Clarinet Association’s ClarinetFests® in 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014, at the NACWPI 2012, 2014, and 2015 Conferences, and at the SEAMUS 2013 conference.    


In Pennsylvania, Banks has performed with the Harrisburg Symphony, the Lancaster Symphony, the Reading Symphony, the Pennsylvania Sinfonia, and Opera Lancaster. Banks received her DMA and BM in clarinet from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and an MM in clarinet from Florida State University. Her primary clarinet teachers are Diane Cawein Barger, Frank Kowalsky, Eric Ginsberg, and Wesley Reist. In addition, she studied saxophone with Robert Fought and Rebecca Gann. Dr. Banks has served as the Pennsylvania state chair of the International Clarinet Association and is the founder of the Millersville University Single Reed Symposium.

Photo credit: Russell Frost