President's Report 2009

School of Science and Mathematics - Kimberly Greene

School of Science and Mathematics - Academic Milestones

  • Dr. Robert T. Smith was named dean of the School of Science and Mathematics, effective July 1, 2009.
  • The NASA Goddard Space Flight Center’s Wallops Flight Facility teamed up with Millersville University professors and students in collaboration with the Marine Science Consortium to give students a hands-on experience in the world of science.
  • Millersville hosted an Odyssey of the Mind competition for K-12 students; the "Science, Technology and Me" program for 135 middle/high school girls; the Central Pa. Science Olympiad for 600 students and teachers; and the Brossman Science Competition and lecture for 400 students and teachers.
  • A new bachelor’s degree in allied health technology was approved, offering options in clinical laboratory science, nuclear medicine technology, pre-athletic training, and respiratory therapy
  • Dr. Richard Clark, professor of meteorology and chair of the Department of Earth Sciences, received the 2008 American Meteorological Society Teaching Excellence Award. Research projects include an NSF-funded project called Linked Environments for Atmospheric Discovery. Millersville is one of eight institutions involved in this $11.25 million, five-year initiative. Dr. Clark also was elected to the board of trustees of the University Corporation for Atmospheric Research, the managing organization of the National Center for Atmospheric Research and was elected as a trustee-at-large.
  • Drs. Roger Webster and Gary Zoppetti, computer science, were invited to present a short talk on their National Science Foundation (NSF) Course, Curriculum, and Laboratory Improvement Program grant for $148,030, entitled "A Computer Graphics and Game Development Track in Computer Science," at the National Association of Computing Machinery Special Interest Group on Computer Science Education conference in Chattanooga, Tennessee. This presentation was selected as one of the best NSF projects awarded by its Division of Undergraduate Education.

Back to the President's Report 2009