Stewards of Sustainability: International Policy Conference

Greetings from the Chair

We enthusiastically invite you to attend our Stewards of Sustainability Conference — This exciting, two-day event will feature inspiring speakers from all dimensions of sustainability: environmental protection, social equity, and economic development. Please read the conference program the for the most up-to-date conference schedule.

We hope to see you at the Stewards of Sustainability Conference.

- Nadine Garner and Victor DeSantis, Conference Co-Chairs

Internationally acclaimed author and activist, Frances Moore Lappé, will launch the conference and will conduct a book signing of her latest book, EcoMind following her opening speech. The first 50 MU students who register for the conference will win a free copy of EcoMind and can have it signed by the author!

Click here to learn more about Frances.

Gary Hirshberg
, chairman of Stonyfield Farm, will deliver the Keynote Address on Thursday evening.

Join us for a free Stonyfield treat after the keynote address. 

Click here to learn more about Gary

Sustainability and the Conference Mission

The United Nations describes sustainability as “development which meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.” Sustainable development is a convergence between the three pillars of economic development, social equity, and environmental protection, also known as the Triple Bottom Line.

The concept of sustainability is relevant to all disciplines. Our Conference seeks to promote the importance of sustainability in the community and to increase student awareness and understanding through discussion and exploration. We hope that students will be exposed to concepts, strategies and tactics so that they can take sustainable thinking and acting beyond our campus walls to become leaders in advancing sustainability in their careers and communities.

Stewards of Sustainability Speakers


Speakers for this year's conference include:

Stewards of Sustainability Conference Planning Committee

Dr. Victor DeSantis (Co-Chair)
Dean, College of Graduate & Professional Studies
Associate Provost, Civic & Community Engagement and Research Project

Dr. Nadine Garner (Co-Chair)
Associate Professor, Department of Psychology

Ms. Lori Leaman
Assistant to the Associate Provost, Civic & Community Engagement and Research Project

Dr. Jason Baker
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology

Dr. Margaret-Ana Börger-Greco
Associate Professor of Spanish, Department of Foreign Languages

Dr. Angela Cuthbert
Associate Professor & Chair, Department of Geography

Ms. Diane Duell
Director of Special Projects, Office of VP for Information Resources

Ms. Diane Fleishman
Director, Experiential Learning & Career Management

Ms. Melissa Gold
Assistant Professor, Department of the Library

Ms. Maria Hoff
Graduate Assistant, Center for Public Scholarship and Social Change

Dr. Leroy Hopkins
Professor of German & Acting Chair, Department of Foreign Languages

Dr. Stacey Irwin
Associate Professor, Department of Communication & Theatre

Dr. Jennifer Jester
Assistant Professor, Department of Music

Dr. Lynn Marquez
Professor of Geology, Department of Earth Sciences

Dr. Jeremiah Mbindyo
Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry

Ms. Claudia Pennington
Graduate Assistant, Civic and Community Engagement and Research Project

Dr. Joseph Revelt
Director, Department of Institutional Research

Dr. Kendra Saunders
Associate Professor, Department of Counseling And Human Development

Dr. Dominic Scott
Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Foundations

Ms. Angela Simmons
Director, Center for Student Involvement & Leadership

Mr. Albert Unrath
Instructional Designer, Department of Information Technologies

Dr. Marjorie Warmkessel
Professor, Department of the Library

2012 Expo details

The Sustainable Business Expo exhibitors and vendors look forward to meeting you and to helping our campus community develop a greater understanding of the availability of sustainable businesses. We extend our deep appreciation to the following sustainable businesses for their participation in the Conference, and for truly serving as Stewards of Sustainability in their everyday business practices.

Check back as we will be posting more information as it becomes available. Also, check out the details of last year's conference.

Conference Information

Conference Program & Registration

Other Conference Highlights

Sustainable Business Expo

Dozens of exhibitors and vendors from all walks of life will gather under one roof at the  on Thursday, September 27, 2012 from 12 p.m. until 6 p.m. in the Multi-Purpose Room (MPR) of the Student Memorial Center (SMC). You will have a unique opportunity to talk with and purchase products from businesses that represent sustainable practices, products, or services.

Enter to Win Fabulous Eco-Conscious Products, courtesy of our Conference Supporters!

We are thrilled that many generous sustainable businesses nationwide are showing their support for the Conference! These businesses are participating as Conference Supporters and have donated outstanding sustainable products, which will be raffled at the end of the Conference.

Green Ambassadors

The members of the Delta Zeta Sorority have graciously volunteered to serve as MU’s first Green Ambassadors. Their hospitality will be evident throughout the Conference, as they welcome guests, provide information, and assist with the raffle of the sustainable gifts. The Green Ambassadors will be easily identifiable by their "Stewards of Sustainability" Conference t-shirts, which are made of organic and fair trade cotton.

Conference Artist

The Conference Artist is MU’s own Stephanie Holmes, a senior art major who has created the conference logo and all of the artwork featured on the conference brochure, poster, postcard, flyer, and yard sign.

Conference Partner

Many thanks to our Conference Partner, the Susquehanna Sustainable Business Network (SSBN) for its support in actively promoting the Conference, and by the participation of many SSBN members as exhibitors/vendors at the Sustainable Business Expo portion of the Conference.

We would like to recognize Lori Leaman, CCERP Events Planner, and the members of the Conference Planning Committee, for their investment in making this Conference a successful event.

Free copy of EcoMind to the first 50 Millersville University students who register for the Conference

Frances Moore LappéHirshberg, author of EcoMind will be signing books on Thursday, September 27 from 1:45-2:15 p.m. in Lehr Room, Gordinier Hall (after her presentation).

You will be notified by Lori Leaman one week before the conference if you qualified to win a copy of EcoMind.