Millersville University Governance & Policies

Effective: October 1997

University Curriculum and Academic Policies Committee UNDERGRADUATE ACADEMIC STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Approved: Reviewed: April 21, 2009 Revised: April 21, 2009 Faculty Senate Revised: March 4, 2025, UCAPC

The Undergraduate Academic Standards Committee is a standing committee of the University Curriculum and Academic Policies Committee (UCAPC).

Membership:

- 1. Chairperson:
 - a. Nominations: Nominations shall be solicited, collected, and a slate shall be created by UCAPC.
 - b. Election: The Committee chairperson shall be elected by a vote of the full faculty
 - c. Term: Three-year term beginning at the start of the fall semester following the election.
 - d. Responsibilities: Convenes and meets with the committee on a regular basis. Attends UCAPC meetings as a liaison regarding business pertaining to the committee. Submits an annual written report outlining the membership and work of the committee.
 - e. Voting member of the committee: Chair will be a voting member of the committee only in the event of a tie vote.
- 2. The composition of the Academic Standards Committee includes nine Regular Faculty Representatives. A Regular Faculty Representative shall be elected to a two-year term from each of the following clusters:
 - Arts: Art and Design, Music, and Communication and Theatre (College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences)
 - Humanities: English and World Languages, and Philosophy (College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences)
 - Social Sciences: Economics; Government and Political Affairs; History; and Criminology, Sociology, and Anthropology (College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences)
 - Education: Educational Foundations; Early, Middle, and Elementary Education; and Special Education (College of Education and Human Services)
 - Human Services: Psychology, Social Work, and Wellness and Sport Sciences (College of Education and Human Services)
 - Data/Applied Sciences: Applied Engineering, Safety, and Technology; Computer Science; Geography; and Mathematics (College of Science and Technology)
 - Lab/Health Sciences: Biology, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Nursing, and Physics (College of Science and Technology)
 - Business: Accounting and Finance, and Management and Marketing (Lombardo College of Business)

University College/Non-College: Exploratory Studies and Student Development,
Counseling and Human Development, Intercollegiate Athletics, and Library
 If there are no faculty representatives elected within a cluster, nominations for that position
 will be opened to all Departments within the associated College. If there are no College-wide nominees for this position, nominations will be opened to all Faculty within the University.
 In the event that fewer than nine faculty representatives are elected to the Committee, the Committee shall constitute itself with the number elected.

Two-year cycles are established by discipline as follows:

- Terms beginning in even years:
 - o Arts
 - Business
 - Data/Applied Sciences
 - Education
 - Social Sciences
- Terms beginning in odd years:
 - Human Services
 - Humanities
 - Lab/Health Sciences
 - University College/Non-College

Committee members shall be elected by a vote of the full faculty.

It is expected that both the regular and alternate members be available during the dates specified for committee meetings.

- 3. The composition of the Academic Standards Committee also includes nine Alternate Faculty Representatives: One representative will be elected from each of the nine academic clusters.
 - a. <u>Election</u>: Elected by a vote of the full faculty.
 - b. <u>Term</u>: One-year terms beginning and ending at the start of the fall semester of the appropriate year. Nominees should confirm availability for scheduled hearing dates in the year of service.
 - c. <u>Voting</u>: An Alternate Faculty Representative is a voting member when serving on a subcommittee.

It is expected that both the regular and alternate members be available during the dates specified for committee meetings.

- 4. Student Representatives: Two undergraduate student representatives.
 - a. Election: Elected by the Student Government Association (SGA).
 - b. <u>Term</u>: One-year terms beginning and ending at the start of the fall semester of the appropriate year.
 - c. Limits: As determined by the SGA.
 - d. Voting: A student representative is a voting member.
- 5. Alternate Student Representatives: Two undergraduate student representatives.
 - a. Election: Elected by Student Government Association (SGA).
 - b. <u>Term</u>: One-year terms beginning and ending at the start of the fall semester of the appropriate year. Nominees should confirm availability for scheduled hearing dates in the year of service.
 - c. Limits: As determined by the SGA.
 - d. Voting: An alternate student representative is a voting member only when replacing a student representative.

- 6. Ex Officio Members: Director of the Millersville Scholars Program, Director of Admissions, Director of Financial Aid, and Registrar.
 - a. Designees: One designee may serve in lieu of each Ex Officio member.
 - b. Voting: An Ex Officio member/designee is a voting member.

Functions:

- 1. Serves as court of appeals for undergraduate students dismissed due to failure to meet academic standards, as described in Millersville University academic policies.
- 2. Serves as court of appeals for undergraduate students denied a degree.
- 3. Considers academic amnesty petitions.
- 4. Advises the Director of Admissions on admission applications following a third academic dismissal.
- 5. Advises the University Curriculum and Academic Policies Committee of its interpretation and implementation of undergraduate student academic policies.

Document History:

Revised April 2009 Revised to update membership February 2025

UCAPC: Academic Standards Committee
Page 3 of 3