Willox Named Dean of EDHS

Dr. Lara Willox named Dean of College of Education and Human Services


Dr. Gail E. Gasparich, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Lara Willox as Dean of the College of Education and Human Services, effective July 1st, 2022.

Dr. Lara Willox currently serves as a Professor, Department Chair, and Interim Associate Dean in the College of Education at the University of West Georgia (UWG). The College of Education at UWG is the 13th largest College of Education in the nation and includes a diversity of programs including health, community wellness, sport management, speech pathology, leadership, and teacher preparation. Her department, Educational Technology and Foundations, is comprised of one graduate program (instructional technology, media & design), two service entities (educational psychology & foundations), an innovations lab (on-site & mobile), and a simulations lab. During her tenure as chair, program enrollment grew by 51%. The program is currently the largest on campus, as well as across the state of Georgia. At the institutional level, she was integral in the establishment of an online dossier system for promotion and tenure and in the development of a university wide commission focused on equity and diversity.

Dr. Willox’s teaching and research focus is on socially just and responsible education. As a social studies scholar, she researches social studies education, transformative education, and the inclusion of LGBTQ+ topics in teacher education. She is active in the National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS), engaged in research practice partnerships with local school systems, and committed to the integration of 21st century skills in formal and informal learning environments. Dr. Willox is a graduate of the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill earning a doctorate in Culture, Curriculum, and Change.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Willox and welcoming her to the Millersville University community.

I also wish to thank the search committee chaired by Dr. Ieva Zake. Members included Dr. Daniel Keefer, Ms. Keisha Patterson, Dr. Laura Granruth, Dr. Joe Behun, Ms. Robin Bennett, Dr. Sarah Jackson, Dr. Thomas Neuville, Ms. Barbara Havercamp, and Ms. Kelly Davis.

Dr. Gail E. Gasparich
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs