Forensic Science Guidance Committee

About the Forensic Science Guidance Committee

Millersville University does not have a Forensic Science major, minor, or option. The committee serves to guide students with either career or graduate school interests in Forensic Science.

The committee consists of seventeen faculty members and staff from 8 academic/professional departments. The goal is to provide students with the appropriate curricular guidance to establish the best scientific foundation for a career as a forensic scientist or to further their professional education. Several faculty members are actively involved in forensic research or forensic casework as well as members of the American Academy of Forensic Science and other related professional societies. This wealth of experience among the faculty at Millersville University provides students with practical opportunities as part of the experiential learning process. 

What is Forensic Science?

Forensic science is the general application of science to law (Saferstein 2004). More specifically, it applies the knowledge and technology of the natural, physical and social sciences in an interdisciplinary approach to better define and enforce the criminal and civil laws of society. The American Academy of Forensic Science (AAFS), the governing professional society for individuals working in the field of forensic sciences recognizes the following disciplines within the field of forensic science:

  • pathology and biology
  • questioned documents
  • jurisprudence
  • toxicology
  • odontology
  • psychiatry
  • criminalistics
  • anthropology
  • general section for individuals not affiliated with fields listed above
  • emerging specialty areas include engineering, entomology, geology, meteorology and microbiology

Cited Literature:
Saferstein, R. 2004. Criminalistics: An introduction to Forensic Science. Pearson / Prentice Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ. 588 pp.