Faculty Senate Agenda for Tuesday, April 16, 2019 (REVISED)

DATE: April 14, 2019

TO: Members and stakeholders of the Faculty Senate

FROM: Kat Walsh, Chairperson

SUBJECT: Faculty Senate Meeting, Tuesday, 4/16/19; 4:05-5:45 pm, Osburn 200/201

- I. Welcome and Minutes from Faculty Senate meeting on Tuesday, 4/2/19
- **II.** Proposed Curricular Frameworks for endorsement (None)
- III. Proposed Courses and Programs: Undergraduate (Consent Agenda)

New Undergraduate Courses

- 1) GOVT 225 Modern China (GOVT New Course Proposal 014): Proposal for a new course with a G3 designation.
- 2) OSEH 222 Construction Safety (AEST New Course Proposal 014): Proposal for a new course for the AETM concentration in Construction Management (no gen ed labels)
- 3) PHIL 281 Business and Professional Ethics (PHIL New Course Proposal 008): Proposal for a new course with a G1 designation and DL delivery.

Undergraduate Course Change Proposals

- 1) ESCI 221 Physical Geology (ESCI Course Change Proposal 043): Proposal to remove Math prerequisite.
- 2) GEOG 202 Environmental Sustainability (GEOG Course Change Proposal 037): Proposal to change course title from Resources and the Environment to Environmental Sustainability, and revise course catalog description.
- 3) GOVT 325 Modern Asia (GOVT Course Change Proposal 007): Proposal to change course title from Politics of East Asia to Modern Asia, and revise course catalog description.

Graduate Second Readings

- 1) Psychology: New Program proposal first reading for a new program: Educational Specialist in School Psychology
- 2) Psychology: Program change proposal first reading: Change to the Master of Science, School Psychology

Proposals recently added to Faculty Senate "state" in CAP added at the start of the meeting. (To be added, if applicable)

IV. Report of the Faculty Senate Chairperson

- <u>NEW:</u> Motion for electronic vote for consent agenda items in Faculty Senate state in CAP by Tuesday, May 7th
- Please attend the inauguration of Dr. Daniel Wubah (in regalia) on Thursday, April 18th at 11:00 a.m. Please register here: https://www.millersville.edu/inauguration/registration.php
 More information here: https://blogs.millersville.edu/news/2019/03/04/dr-daniel-wubahs-inauguration-set-for-april-18/ The faculty robing area is in the Ford Atrium in McComsey.
- Please attend graduation https://blogs.millersville.edu/villedaily/files/2019/03/MAY-COMMENCEMENT.pdf; We need volunteer marshals including two for Inauguration (April 18), two for Grad Commencement (May 10), one for UG Commencement (May 11)
- Summer 2019 Faculty Senate Meeting: June 11th 3:00-4:45 pm (NOTE time difference)

- V. Report of the APSCUF President
- VI. Report of the Student Government Association
- VII. Report of the Graduate Student Association
- VIII. Report of the Administrative Officers
- IX. Announcement of new courses, programs or changes to existing courses/program
- **X.** Reports of the Faculty Senate Standing Committees
 - Academic Outcomes and Assessment (AOAC) Chairperson: Robyn Davis
 - Academic Policies (APC) Chairperson: Jack Ogutu
 - Academic Standards Chairperson: Ryan Wagner
 - Committee on Cooperative Education/Internship Program Chairperson: Robyn Davis
 - Educator of the Year Committee (EDOY): Ex-Officio chair, Shaun Cook
 - Faculty Senate Bylaws Chairperson: Aimee Miller
 - General Education Review Committee (GERC) Chairperson: Carrie Smith
 - 1) Second Reading "for an approval process on future potential Gen Ed proposals that will come before Faculty Senate."
 - Graduate Course & Program Review Committee (GCPRC) Chairperson: Tiffany Wright
 - 1) GCPRC Governance and Policies Document proposed policy change to:
 - Convert document to new format
 - Include language changes previously approved: administrative title (Bylaws Committee review in 2009); removal of chair/senator restriction (Senate and APSCUF in 2010)
 - Specify one-year term for student representatives.
 - Clarify Graduate Committee is GCPRC.
 - Adds new function of electing faculty to Grad Acad Appeals Comm and reporting any changes to the appeals process.
 - States function of providing Senate with list of graduate faculty each year.
 - Joint Senate Conference Committee Chairperson: Shaun Cook
 - Multidisciplinary Programs Curriculum Committee Chairperson: Nakeiha Primus
 - Undergraduate Course & Program Review Committee (UCPRC) Chairperson: Ollie Dreon
 - University Honors College Committee Chairperson: Aaron Haines

XI. Reports of the Faculty Senate, Convened Committees, Area or Special Committees

- Student Civic Engagement Committee Chairperson: Dan Audette
- Arts and Humanities Area Curricular Committee: James Pannafino
- Education and Human Services Area Curricular Committee: Abdelhadi Halawa
- Science and Technology Area Curricular Committees: Barbara Zimmerman
- Social Science Area Curricular Committee: Chuck Geiger

XII. Faculty Emeriti Resolutions

- 1) Dr. Roger Webster, Professor of Computer Science
- XIII. Faculty Senate Elections (Please refer to updates from Dr. Aimee Miller)
- XIV. New Business
- **XV. Adjournment** [and table/chair moving, please]