Faculty Senate Agenda for Tuesday, April 2, 2019 (Revised)

DATE:March 29, 2019TO:Members and stakeholders of the Faculty SenateFROM:Kat Walsh, ChairpersonSUBJECT:Faculty Senate Meeting, Tuesday, 3/19/19; 4:05-5:45 pm, Osburn 200/201

I. Welcome and Minutes from Faculty Senate meeting on Tuesday, 3/19/19

II. Proposed Curricular Frameworks for endorsement (None)

III. Proposed Courses and Programs: Undergraduate (Consent Agenda)

New Undergraduate Courses

1) WSSD 384 Contemporary Issues in Sports (WSSD New Course Proposal 019) Proposal to add new course with W and DL labels.

New Undergraduate Curricula (None)

Undergraduate Course Change Proposals

- 1) GEOG 230: Physical Geography (GEOG Course Change Proposal 011): Proposal to change the Gen Ed label from G3 to G2; add DL delivery option
- 2) GEOG 343: Latin America and the Caribbean (GEOG Course Change Proposal 028): Proposal to change the title to above title from Latin America, along with description and prerequisites and add DL label.

Undergraduate Curricular Change Proposals

 BS Biology, Respiratory Therapy (BIO Curriculum Change Proposal 014): Proposal to change Respiratory Therapy program by 1) replacing BIOL 356 with BIOL 254 and BIOL 255; 2) deleting BIOL 352 from the Spring semester, and 3) moving RESP 425 from the Fall to the Spring semester. Changes apply to major, option, concentration.

Graduate Second Readings (None)

IV. Report of the Faculty Senate Chairperson

- Please attend the inauguration of Dr. Daniel Wubah (in regalia) on Thursday, April 18th at 11:00 a.m. Please register here: <u>https://www.millersville.edu/inauguration/registration.php</u> More information here: <u>https://blogs.millersville.edu/news/2019/03/04/dr-daniel-wubahs-inauguration-set-for-april-18/</u> The faculty robing area is in the Ford Atrium in McComsey.
- Please attend graduation <u>https://blogs.millersville.edu/villedaily/files/2019/03/MAY-COMMENCEMENT.pdf;</u> We need volunteer marshals including two for Inauguration (April 18), two for Grad Commencement (May 10), one for UG Commencement (May 11)
- Made in Millersville (still need volunteer reviewers!!!) Please spread the word and consider volunteering if you are able to, <u>https://www.madeinmu.education/why-review-1</u>.
- Spring 2019 Faculty Senate Meetings (1st and 3rd Tuesdays 4:05-5:45 p.m.)

 April 16th, June 11th 3:00-4:45 pm)

V. Report of the APSCUF President

- VI. Report of the Student Government Association
- VII. Report of the Graduate Student Association
- VIII. Report of the Administrative Officers
- IX. Announcement of new courses, programs or changes to existing courses/program
- X. Reports of the Faculty Senate Standing Committees
 - Academic Outcomes and Assessment (AOAC) Chairperson: Robyn Davis
 - Academic Policies (APC) Chairperson: Jack Ogutu
 - Academic Standards Chairperson: Ryan Wagner
 - Committee on Cooperative Education/Internship Program Chairperson: Robyn Davis
 - Educator of the Year Committee (EDOY): Ex-Officio chair, Shaun Cook
 - Faculty Senate Bylaws Chairperson: Aimee Miller
 - General Education Review Committee (GERC) Chairperson: Carrie Smith
 - First Reading "for an approval process on future potential Gen Ed proposals that will come before Faculty Senate." (document to be posted Monday, April 1st) "
 - Graduate Course & Program Review Committee (GCPRC) Chairperson: Tiffany Wright
 - 1) Psychology: New Program proposal first reading for a new program: Educational Specialist in School Psychology
 - 2) Psychology: Program change proposal first reading: Change to the Master of Science, School Psychology
 - 3) GCPRC Governance and Policies Document proposed policy change to update the membership of committee to reflect current university structure and change election of committee chair from fall of AY to spring prior to AY.
 - Joint Senate Conference Committee Chairperson: Shaun Cook
 - Multidisciplinary Programs Curriculum Committee Chairperson: Nakeiha Primus
 - Undergraduate Course & Program Review Committee (UCPRC) Chairperson: Ollie Dreon
 - University Honors College Committee Chairperson: Aaron Haines

XI. Reports of the Faculty Senate, Convened Committees, Area or Special Committees

- Student Civic Engagement Committee Chairperson: Dan Audette
- Arts and Humanities Area Curricular Committee: James Pannafino
- Education and Human Services Area Curricular Committee: Abdelhadi Halawa
- Science and Technology Area Curricular Committees: Barbara Zimmerman
- Social Science Area Curricular Committee: Chuck Geiger

XII. Faculty Emeriti Resolutions

- 1) Dr. Dorothee J. Blum, Associate Professor of Mathematics
- 2) Dr. James Cosentino, Professor of Biology
- 3) Dr. LaVern Whisenton-Davidson, Professor of Biology

XIII. Faculty Senate Elections

XIV. New Business

XV. Adjournment [and table/chair moving, please]