Faculty Senate Agenda for Tuesday, February 19, 2019

DATE:February 15, 2019TO:Members and stakeholders of the Faculty SenateFROM:Kat Walsh, ChairpersonSUBJECT:Faculty Senate Meeting, Tuesday, 2/19/19; 4:05-5:45 pm, Osburn 200/201

I. Welcome and Minutes from Faculty Senate meeting on Tuesday, 2/5/19

II. **Proposed Courses and Programs:** Undergraduate (Consent Agenda)

New Undergraduate Course Proposals

1) MATH 304: Matrix Algebra and Applications (New Course Proposal 008)

Undergraduate Course Change Proposals

- 1) DESN 244: Typography II (Course Change Proposal 023): Proposal to change course description
- 2) DESN 332: Material Design (Course Change Proposal 024): Proposal to add prerequisite.
- 3) MUSI 271 (Course Change Proposal 013); "The Art of Teaching Elementary Music According to the Kodály Concept" This proposal seeks to change the course number of MUSI 271 (The Art of Teaching Elementary Music According to the Kodály Concept) to MUSI 317 (effective Su 2019) (*) *This course was approved in CAP by senate chair in error after last meeting and has moved to Dean's Council.*

New Undergraduate Program Proposal (None)

Undergraduate Curricular Change Proposals

1) CSCI (Curriculum Change Proposal 010) BS in Computer Science: Proposal to change requirements for the major, option, concentration.

<u>Graduate (Second Readings)</u> New Courses and New Curriculum (None)

Graduate Course Change Proposal:

III. Report of the Faculty Senate Chairperson

Spring 2019 Faculty Senate Meetings (1st and 3rd Tuesdays 4:05-5:45 p.m.)

- March 5^{th} and 19^{th}
- April 2^{nd} and 16^{th}
- June (summer meeting is 3-4:45) TBD

IV. Report of the APSCUF President

V. Report of the Student Government Association President

VII. Report of the Graduate Student Association

VIII. Report of the Administrative Officers

IX. Announcement of new courses, programs or changes to existing courses/program

X. Reports of the Faculty Senate Standing Committees

- Academic Outcomes and Assessment (AOAC) Chairperson: Robyn Davis
- Academic Policies (APC) Chairperson: Jack Ogutu
- Academic Standards Chairperson: Ryan Wagner
- Committee on Cooperative Education/Internship Program Chairperson: Robyn Davis
- Educator of the Year Committee (EDOY): Ex-Officio chair, Shaun Cook
- Faculty Senate Bylaws Chairperson: Aimee Miller
- General Education Review Committee (GERC) Chairperson: Carrie Smith
- Graduate Course & Program Review Committee (GCPRC) Chairperson: Tiffany Wright

First Readings: (posted in the Faculty Senate D2L site)

- Joint Senate Conference Committee Chairperson: Shaun Cook
- Multidisciplinary Programs Curriculum Committee Chairperson: Nakeiha Primus
- Undergraduate Course & Program Review Committee (UCPRC) Chairperson: Ollie Dreon
- University Honors College Committee Chairperson: Aaron Haines

XI. Reports of the Faculty Senate, Convened Committees, Area or Special Committees

- Student Civic Engagement Committee Chairperson: Dan Audette
- Arts and Humanities Area Curricular Committee: James Pannafino
- Education and Human Services Area Curricular Committee: Abdelhadi Halawa
- Science and Technology Area Curricular Committees: Barbara Zimmerman
- Social Science Area Curricular Committee: Chuck Geiger

XII. Faculty Emeriti Resolutions (None)

XIII. Faculty Senate Elections

XIV. New Business

• New Academic Degree Curricular Framework: B.S. in Sports Administration (College of Education and Human Services, Department of Wellness and Sport Sciences)

XV. Adjournment [and table/chair moving, please]