Faculty Senate Agenda for Tuesday, June 11, 2019

DATE: June 5, 2019

TO: Members and stakeholders of the Faculty Senate

FROM: Kat Walsh, Chairperson

SUBJECT: Faculty Senate Meeting, Tuesday, 6/11/19; 3:00-4:45 pm, Osburn 200/201

- I. Welcome and Minutes from Faculty Senate meeting on Tuesday, 4/16/19 and electronic vote 5/7/19
- **II.** Proposed Curricular Frameworks for endorsement (None)
- **III.** Proposed Courses and Programs

Undergraduate (Consent Agenda)

New Undergraduate Courses

- 1) EMGT 205 Natural Hazards Assessment and Mitigation (EMGT New Course Proposal 004): Proposal for a new course that is part of the MDST EHEM curriculum that is required for MDST EHEM majors and an elective for the EHEM minor; DL designation.
- 2) EMGT 315 Business Continuity and Continuity of Operations (EMGT New Course Proposal 003): Proposal for a new course that is part of the MDST EHEM curriculum and serves MDST students and students with minor in EHEM; DL designation.
- 3) EMGT Disaster Response and Recovery 309 (EMGT New Course Proposal 002): Proposal for a new course that is part of the MDST EHEM curriculum and serves MDST EHEM majors and EHEM minors; DL designation (EMGT 205 is prerequisite).

<u>Undergraduate Course Change Proposals (None)</u>

Graduate Second Readings

New Graduate Course Proposals

- MATH 613 Mathematics Curriculum Connections; Contact: Erin Moss (<u>Erin.Moss@Millersville.Edu</u>) and Tyrone Washington (<u>Tyrone.Washington@Millersville.Edu</u>)
- 2) SWEN 671 The Origins of Space Weather; Contact: Richard Clark (<u>Richard.Clark@Millersville.Edu</u>)
- 3) SWEN 672, Impacts of Space Weather on a Technological World; Contact: Richard Clark (Richard.Clark@Millersville.Edu)
- 4) SWEN 673, Effective Decision-Support for Space Weather Risks; Contact: Richard Clark (Richard.Clark@Millersville.Edu)
- 5) SWEN 674, Space Weather Broadcast Communication; Contact: Richard Clark (<u>Richard.Clark@Millersville.Edu</u>)

Graduate Course Change Proposals (None)

New Graduate Programs

1) Space, Weather and Environment (Masters certificate program); Contact: Richard Clark (Richard.Clark@Millersville.Edu)

Graduate Program Change Proposals

1) M.Ed. Language and Literacy, Reading concentration/Reading Specialist Certification, Replace Course Requirement; Contact: Aileen Hower (Aileen.Hower@Millersville.Edu).

IV. Report of the Faculty Senate Chairperson

- Thank you! Graduation, dedication, special thanks UCPRC
- V. Report of the APSCUF President
- VI. Report of the Student Government Association
- VII. Report of the Graduate Student Association
- **VIII.** Report of the Administrative Officers

Advising Restructuring Update

IX. Announcement of new courses, programs or changes to existing courses/program

X. Reports of the Faculty Senate Standing Committees

- Academic Outcomes and Assessment (AOAC) Chairperson: Robyn Davis
- Academic Policies (APC) Chairperson: Jack Ogutu
- Academic Standards Chairperson: Ryan Wagner
 - 1) Policy Change proposal (uploaded to D2L): Wording change associated with the Academic Policy: Undergraduate Students-Academic Standards, Probation, Dismissal and Appeals section. Effective in Fall 2019 for the Winter 2020 appeals session.
- Committee on Cooperative Education/Internship Program Chairperson: Robyn Davis
- Educator of the Year Committee (EDOY): Ex-Officio chair, Shaun Cook
 - 1) Annual Report for AY 18/19
- Faculty Senate Bylaws Chairperson: Aimee Miller
- General Education Review Committee (GERC) Chairperson: Carrie Smith
- Graduate Course & Program Review Committee (GCPRC) Chairperson: Tiffany Wright
- Joint Senate Conference Committee Chairperson: Shaun Cook
 - 1) Annual Report for AY 18/19
- Multidisciplinary Programs Curriculum Committee Chairperson: Nakeiha Primus
- Undergraduate Course & Program Review Committee (UCPRC) Chairperson: Ollie Dreon
 - 1) Recertifications for AY 2018/19
- University Honors College Committee Chairperson: Aaron Haines
 - 1) Annual Report

XI. Reports of the Faculty Senate, Convened Committees, Area or Special Committees

- Student Civic Engagement Committee Chairperson: Dan Audette
- Arts and Humanities Area Curricular Committee: James Pannafino
- Education and Human Services Area Curricular Committee: Abdelhadi Halawa
- Science and Technology Area Curricular Committees: Barbara Zimmerman
- Social Science Area Curricular Committee: Chuck Geiger

XII. Faculty Emeriti Resolutions (None)

- **XIII.** Faculty Senate Elections (Please refer to updates from Dr. Aimee Miller)
- XIV. New Business
- **XV. Adjournment** [and table/chair moving, please]