Faculty Senate Agenda for Tuesday, March 19, 2019

DATE:	March 13	3, 2019		

TO:	Members and stakeholders of the Faculty Senate
FROM:	Kat Walsh, Chairperson
SUBJECT:	Faculty Senate Meeting, Tuesday, 3/19/19; 4:05-5:45 pm, Osburn 200/201

I. Welcome and Minutes from Faculty Senate meeting on Tuesday, 3/5/19

II. Proposed Curricular Frameworks for endorsement

- Bachelor of Science in Multidisciplinary Studies (Population Health Concentration): Dr. Michael Jackson, Dean, College of Science and Technology; Dr. Kelly Kuhns, Department of Nursing (Proposer and Department Chairperson of Nursing)
- Bachelor of Science in Packaging Engineering Technology (PET): Dr. Michael Jackson, Dean, College of Science and Technology; Dr. Mark Snyder, Associate Professor & Program Coordinator of Applied Engineering & Technology Management; Dr. Len Litowitz, Chair, Department of Applied Engineering, Safety and Technology
- Educational Specialist (Ed.S.) in School Psychology: Dr. George Drake, Dean, College of Education and Human Services; Dr. Helena Tuleya-Payne, Department of Psychology; Fred Foster-Clark, Department Chairperson of Psychology

III. Proposed Courses and Programs: Undergraduate (Consent Agenda)

Undergraduate Course Change Proposals

- MATH 472 Financial Mathematics II (Math Course Change Proposal 010): Proposal to change the prerequisite from "MATH 335 or MATH 333, and MATH 372" to "A grade of C- or better in MATH 335 or MATH 333, and a grade of C- or better in MATH 372."
- 2) MATH 372 Financial Mathematics I (Math Course Change Proposal 009): Proposal to change the prerequisite from "MATH 211-Calculus II" to "a grade of C- or better in MATH 211-Calculus II".
- 3) PSYC 314 Cognitive Psychology to Advanced Lab in Cognitive Psychology (Psyc Course Change Proposal 016): Proposal to add PSYC 215 (Introduction to Physiological PYSC) as a prerequisite and change the title from 'Cognitive Psychology' to 'Advanced Lab in Cognitive Psychology'.
- 4) PSYC 316 Sensation and Perception to Advanced Lab in Sensation and Perception (Psyc Course Change Proposal 017): Proposal to add PSYC 215 (Introduction to Physiological PYSC) as a prerequisite and change course the title from 'Sensation and Perception' to 'Advanced Lab in Sensation and Perception'.

Undergraduate Curricular Change Proposals

- ESCI (Curricular Change Proposal 041): Proposal to change the Geology minor by 1) allowing one 100 level geology course to count toward the minor and 2) allowing GEOG 230 to substitute for ESCI 225 within the minor. Geography has agreed to a similar substitution within their minor
- 2) GEOG Environmental Geography (Curricular Change Proposal 054): Proposal to change GEOG minor by adding ESCI 225 Geomorphology as an option to the required courses. Students will have the option to count either ESCI225 Geomorphology OR GEOG230 Physical Geography towards the minor.

Graduate Second Readings (posted in the Faculty Senate D2L site)

1) Clinical Competency Review Policy Change

IV. Report of the Faculty Senate Chairperson

• Please attend the inauguration of Dr. Daniel Wubah (in regalia) on Thursday, April 18th at 11:00 a.m. Please register here: <u>https://www.millersville.edu/inauguration/registration.php</u> More information here: <u>https://blogs.millersville.edu/news/2019/03/04/dr-daniel-wubahs-inauguration-set-for-april-18/</u> The faculty robing area is in the Ford Atrium in McComsey.

- Please attend graduation <u>https://blogs.millersville.edu/villedaily/files/2019/03/MAY-</u> <u>COMMENCEMENT.pdf;</u> We need volunteer marshals including two for Inauguration (April 18), two for Grad Commencement (May 10), one for UG Commencement (May 11)
- Spring 2019 Faculty Senate Meetings (1st and 3rd Tuesdays 4:05-5:45 p.m.)

 April 2nd and 16th, June (summer meeting is 3-4:45)
- V. Report of the APSCUF President
- VI. Report of the Student Government Association
- VII. Report of the Graduate Student Association
- VIII. Report of the Administrative Officers
- IX. Announcement of new courses, programs or changes to existing courses/program
- X. Reports of the Faculty Senate Standing Committees
 - Academic Outcomes and Assessment (AOAC) Chairperson: Robyn Davis
 - Academic Policies (APC) Chairperson: Jack Ogutu
 - Academic Standards Chairperson: Ryan Wagner
 - Committee on Cooperative Education/Internship Program Chairperson: Robyn Davis
 - Educator of the Year Committee (EDOY): Ex-Officio chair, Shaun Cook
 - 1) (Second Reading): Proposal to revise structure to improve function, clarify oversight by JSCC
 - Faculty Senate Bylaws Chairperson: Aimee Miller
 - General Education Review Committee (GERC) Chairperson: Carrie Smith
 - Graduate Course & Program Review Committee (GCPRC) Chairperson: Tiffany Wright
 - Joint Senate Conference Committee Chairperson: Shaun Cook
 - 1) (Second Reading): Proposal to revise format and language to clarify role in EYASC oversight, add graduate student representation
 - Multidisciplinary Programs Curriculum Committee Chairperson: Nakeiha Primus
 - Undergraduate Course & Program Review Committee (UCPRC) Chairperson: Ollie Dreon
 - University Honors College Committee Chairperson: Aaron Haines (Second Reading)
 - <u>Honors College Elective Course Credit Proposal</u>: Proposal to allow 500 level graduate courses to count as "Honors Credit" This proposal does not change Honors College Policy:

https://www.millersville.edu/about/administration/policies/pdf/academics/academicprogram-ud-honors-programs.pdf AND Students will still be required to obtain special permission to take graduate courses, linked here:

https://www.millersville.edu/registrar/files/studentforms/permission-for-undergrad-tograd-class.pdf The proposal will allow the Registrar to program degree audit to accept "500 level" with a B- or higher as honors electives (with Honors College confirmation) Questions or feedback should be shared with <u>Aaron.Haines@millersville.edu</u>

XI. Reports of the Faculty Senate, Convened Committees, Area or Special Committees

- Student Civic Engagement Committee Chairperson: Dan Audette
- Arts and Humanities Area Curricular Committee: James Pannafino
- Education and Human Services Area Curricular Committee: Abdelhadi Halawa
- Science and Technology Area Curricular Committees: Barbara Zimmerman
- Social Science Area Curricular Committee: Chuck Geiger

XII. Faculty Emeriti Resolutions

- XIII. Faculty Senate Elections
- XIV. New Business
- **XV.** Adjournment [and table/chair moving, please]