Faculty Senate Agenda for Tuesday, March 5, 2019

DATE: March 3, 2019

TO: Members and stakeholders of the Faculty Senate

FROM: Kat Walsh, Chairperson

SUBJECT: Faculty Senate Meeting, Tuesday, 3/5/19; 4:05-5:45 pm, Osburn 200/201

- I. Welcome and Minutes from Faculty Senate meeting on Tuesday, 2/19/19
- II. Proposed Curricular Frameworks for endorsement
- III. Proposed Courses and Programs: Undergraduate (Consent Agenda)

New Undergraduate Course Proposals (None)

<u>Undergraduate Course Change Proposals</u>

- 1) ITEC 322 (AEST Course Change Proposal 023): This proposal seeks to change the course number of ITEC 222 to ITEC 322 and to change the course title from Transportation and Automation to Transportation and Robotics.
- 2) EDUC 403 (EMEE Course Change Proposal 021): The proposal seeks to change the name of this course from Cultural Diversity: Pluralism in the Classroom to Cultural Diversity: Pluralism in Society, drop the W label, and add a P label.

New Undergraduate Program/Curriculum Proposal

1) HIST (New Curriculum Proposal 024) Military Science Minor: Proposal for the creation of a new minor in Military Science.

Undergraduate Curricular Change Proposals (None)

Graduate Second Readings (None)

IV. Report of the Faculty Senate Chairperson

 Please consider attending the International Women's Day Event at Ware Center Friday night co-sponsored and in celebration of the President's Commission on the Status of Women.
 Amazing speakers and free childcare provided:
 https://blogs.millersyille.edu/posw/international-womens-day-2019/internati

https://blogs.millersville.edu/pcsw/international-womens-day-2019/international-womens-day-2019-information/

Spring 2019 Faculty Senate Meetings (1st and 3rd Tuesdays 4:05-5:45 p.m.)

- March 19th
- April 2nd and 16th
- June (summer meeting is 3-4:45) TBD
- V. Report of the APSCUF President
- VI. Report of the Student Government Association President
- VII. Report of the Graduate Student Association
- VIII. Report of the Administrative Officers

IX. Announcement of new courses, programs or changes to existing courses/program

X. Reports of the Faculty Senate Standing Committees

- Academic Outcomes and Assessment (AOAC) Chairperson: Robyn Davis
- Academic Policies (APC) Chairperson: Jack Ogutu
- Academic Standards Chairperson: Ryan Wagner
- Committee on Cooperative Education/Internship Program Chairperson: Robyn Davis
- Educator of the Year Committee (EDOY): Ex-Officio chair, Shaun Cook
- Faculty Senate Bylaws Chairperson: Aimee Miller
- General Education Review Committee (GERC) Chairperson: Carrie Smith
- Graduate Course & Program Review Committee (GCPRC) Chairperson: Tiffany Wright First Readings: (posted in the Faculty Senate D2L site)
 - 1) Clinical Competency Review Policy Change
- Joint Senate Conference Committee Chairperson: Shaun Cook
- Multidisciplinary Programs Curriculum Committee Chairperson: Nakeiha Primus
- Undergraduate Course & Program Review Committee (UCPRC) Chairperson: Ollie Dreon
- University Honors College Committee Chairperson: Aaron Haines
 - 1) Honors College Elective Course Credit Proposal: Proposal to allow 500 level graduate courses to count as "Honors Credit" This proposal does not change Honors College Policy:

 https://www.millersville.edu/about/administration/policies/pdf/academics/academic-program-ud-honors-programs.pdf AND Students will still be required to obtain special permission to take graduate courses, linked here:

 https://www.millersville.edu/registrar/files/studentforms/permission-for-undergrad-to-grad-class.pdf The proposal will allow the Registrar to program degree audit to accept "500 level" with a B- or higher as honors electives (with Honors College confirmation) Questions or feedback should be shared with Aaron.Haines@millersville.edu

XI. Reports of the Faculty Senate, Convened Committees, Area or Special Committees

- Student Civic Engagement Committee Chairperson: Dan Audette
- Arts and Humanities Area Curricular Committee: James Pannafino
- Education and Human Services Area Curricular Committee: Abdelhadi Halawa
- Science and Technology Area Curricular Committees: Barbara Zimmerman
- Social Science Area Curricular Committee: Chuck Geiger

XII. Faculty Emeriti Resolutions

- 1) Dr. Jean G. Boal, Professor of Biology
- 2) Dr. Timothy I. Ladd, Associate Professor of Biology
- XIII. Faculty Senate Elections
- XIV. New Business
- **XV. Adjournment** [and table/chair moving, please]