#### **Faculty Senate Meeting**

**DATE:** September 28, 2018

**TO:** Members and stakeholders of the Faculty Senate

**FROM:** Kat Walsh, Chairperson

**SUBJECT:** Faculty Senate Meeting, Tuesday, October 2, 2018; 4:05-5:45 p.m., Osburn, Rm

200/201

#### I. Welcome/Introductions

### II. Minutes from Faculty Senate meeting on Tuesday, September 18, 2018

## III. Proposed Courses and Programs

## Undergraduate (Consent Agenda)

- New Undergraduate Course Proposals (None)
- Undergraduate Course Change Proposals
  - COMM 390 Social Media Campaigns (DL): Proposal to add DL label and change the prerequisites to allow students outside the SPCM major to enroll (COMM Course Change Proposal 012)
- New Undergraduate Program Proposal (None)
- Undergraduate Curricular Change Proposals (None)

# Graduate

- New Graduate Course Proposals (None)
- Graduate Course Change Proposals (None)
- New Graduate Program Proposal (None)
- Graduate Curricular Change Proposals (None)

#### IV. Report of the Faculty Senate Chairperson

- ACC policy document
- Resource reminder
- Plans for this year, ideas, thoughts, please email Kat kat.walsh@millersville.edu

## **Upcoming 2018 Fall Faculty Senate meetings:**

- October 16<sup>th</sup>
- November 6<sup>th</sup> and 20<sup>th</sup>
- December 4<sup>th</sup>

#### V. Report of the APSCUF President

#### VI. Report of the Student Senate President

#### VII. Report of the Graduate Student Association

#### VIII. Report of the Administrative Officers

# IX. Announcement of any new courses, programs or changes to existing courses/programs

# X. Reports of the Faculty Senate Standing Committees

- Academic Outcomes and Assessment (AOAC) Chairperson: Robyn Davis
- Academic Policies (APC) Chairperson: Jack Ogutu (Please see the document uploaded in D2L for review and share with your departments/schools.) The committee is gathering feedback from faculty regarding the current course repeat policy which prohibits students from retaking courses failed at MU at another institution. The questions being explored include whether there is a need to change the policy to allow students to retake courses at a different institution and still satisfy graduation requirements. If you have feedback, please email <a href="mailto:jack.Ogutu@Millersville.edu">jack.Ogutu@Millersville.edu</a>
- Academic Standards Chairperson: Ryan Wagner
- Committee on Cooperative Education/Internship Program Chairperson: Robyn Davis
- Faculty Senate Bylaws Chairperson: Aimee Miller
- General Education Review Committee (GERC) Chairperson: Carrie Smith
- Graduate Course and Program Review Committee (GCPRC) Chairperson: Rebecca Mowrey
- Joint Senate Conference Committee Chairperson: Shaun Cook
- Multidisciplinary Programs Curriculum Committee Chairperson: Nakeiha Primus
- Undergraduate Course and Program Review Committee (UCPRC) Chairperson: Ollie Dreon
- University Honors College Committee Chairperson: Aaron Haines

#### XI. Reports of the Faculty Senate, Convened Committees, Area or Special Committees

- Educator of the Year Committee (EDOY) Outgoing Chairperson: Jeri Robinson
- Student Civic Engagement Committee Chairperson: Dan Audette
- Arts and Humanities Area Curricular Committee: James Pannafino
- Education and Human Services Area Curricular Committee: Abdelhadi Halawa
- Science and Technology Area Curricular Committees: Barbara Zimmerman
- Social Science Area Curricular Committee: Chuck Geiger

# XII. Faculty Emeriti (None)

#### XIII. Faculty Senate Elections (None)

#### XIV. New Business

- New curricular approval template (for PASSHE); Drs. Delle, Prabhu and Shibley (Please see uploaded presentation for review; this will be discussed at the meeting)
- Registrar/Registration updates
- Early Alert/Advisement updates
- Other announcements or guest reports

## **XV. Adjournment** [and table/chair moving, please]