Millersville University Faculty Senate Minutes 09/01/2020

The meeting was called to order remotely via Zoom at 4:09 p.m. All departments were in attendance with the exception of Academic Advisement and Student Development, Accounting and Finance, Earth Science, History, and Interdisciplinary Studies.

I. Welcome and introduction of senators, and other guests.

- a. Introductions of new senators and senate leadership were made. Thanks and appreciation expressed for outgoing leadership service and ongoing transition assistance of former chair Dr. Kathleen Walsh and secretary Dr. Aimee Miller.
- b. Greetings from Dr. Wubah, President: Dr. Wubah welcomed everyone and announced or highlighted the following.
 - i. New strategic 5-yr plan will be unveiled soon and will be seeking some additional input.
 - ii. New named Lombardo College of Business.
 - iii. COVID update: relatively smooth start, ~78% of courses remote, 653 students on campus in Villages, new COVID dashboard coming online, 5 COVID cases in community all off campus, enrollments down 4.5% 351 students 4.3% FTE but better than expected and better than sister institutions, decision on spring semester to be made in coming weeks.
 - iv. Middle States Visit Dates Announced 09/13-09/16, see Ville Daily and email announcements for participation opportunities.
 - v. New Office of Community Engagement and Economic Development created to help fulfill MU mission of service to the community, help with COVID job loss and economic recovery.
 - vi. 7 new academic programs, will be heavily marketed to attract students, note about 10% demographic enrollment cliff ~2025.
 - vii. New favorable rankings for MU in Washington Monthly college rankings, https://washingtonmonthly.com/2020college-guide.

II. Minutes of the Faculty Senate 06/09/2020 Meeting

a. The minutes of the 06/09/2020 meeting of the Faculty Senate were approved as written.

III. Proposed Curricular Frameworks for endorsement

a. None

IV. Proposed Courses and Programs for approval

- a. Undergraduate
 - i. None
- b. Graduate

i. None

٧. Report of the Faculty Senate Chairperson

- a. Chair Jeri Robinson welcomed everyone including new senators and reminded senate on its critical role as University Curriculum Committee.
 - https://www.millersville.edu/fsenate/index.php
- b. Please contact Secretary Ethan Frost regarding Faculty Senate email list, D2L access, or committee roster related issues.
- c. Faculty Senate Meeting Dates Fall 2020 (1st and 3rd Tuesday at 4:05-5:45 unless noted*) - remote
 - i. September 1st
 - ii. September 15th * 5:00pm
 - 1. Motion to propose starting meeting at 5:00 pm if necessary due to Middle States Meeting by Faculty Senate Leadership approved, (Cardwell/Hower).
 - iii. September 29th *
 - 1. Motion to propose adding meeting on 5th Tuesday of September due to potential late start at September 15th meeting approved, (Bowen/Miller).
 - iv. October 6th and 20th
 - v. November 3rd and 17th
 - vi. December 1st
- d. Provost search committee nominations due Friday 09/04.
- e. Dr. Kathleen Walsh, outgoing Faculty Senate Chairperson, highlighted the transition report available on D2L and referred to recent APSCUF email regarding APSCUF related announcements.

APSCUF Updates VI.

a. See recent email update from APSCUF.

VII. **Report of the Student Government Association**

a. None

VIII. **Report of the Graduate Student Association**

a. None

IX. **Report of the Administrative Officer**

- a. Dr. James Delle, Associate Provost thanked faculty for their hard work to reframe the fall semester amidst the pandemic. He reminded senate about Middle States 09/13-09/16 including the open forum on 09/15 and encouraged faculty to participate.
- X. Announcement of new courses, programs or changes to existing courses/program a. See CAP.

Reports of the Faculty Senate Standing Committees XI.

- a. Academic Outcomes and Assessment (AOAC) Chairperson: Robyn Davis
 - i. There are open seats on the committee if interested in serving. Committee is preparing for meeting with Middle States.
- b. Academic Policies (APC) Chairperson: Ankur Nandedkar
 - i. A reminder of open seats on the committee was made.

- c. General Education Review Committee (GERC) Chairperson: Carrie Smith
 - i. Please review minutes of last meeting on D2L as report.
- d. Graduate Course & Program Review Committee (GCPRC) Chairperson: Leslie Gates
 - i. In addition to proposal review committee is working on transfer credit policy.

XII. Reports of the Faculty Senate, Convened Committees, Area or Special Committees

- a. None
- XIII. Faculty Emeriti Resolutions
 - a. None
- XIV. Faculty Senate Elections (3rd/at-large)
 - a. Previous nominations were shared digitally and the floor opened for additional nominations. A Frost/Cook motion to close nominations and cast a unanimous vote for each unopposed candidate was approved without dissent. For contested seats an electronic ballot on D2L was sent to senators. Results of both election rounds are below.
- XV. New Business
 - a. None

Meeting was adjourned at 5:17pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Ethan E. Frost Faculty Senate Secretary

Action Summary:

Cardwell/Hower motion to start 09/15 meeting at 5:00 pm if necessary due to Middle States Meeting by Faculty Senate Leadership approved without dissent.

Bowen/Miller motion to propose adding meeting on 5th Tuesday of September (09/29) if necessary due to potential late start at September 15th meeting approved without dissent.

Election Results:

Academic Outcomes and Assessment

Michele Santamaria LIBR (Non-College: 2020-22)

Academic Polices

Lowery Woodall COMT (SocSci: 2020-22)

David Owen GOVT (at-large 1yr, in SocSci: 19-21 seat) Chad Hogg CSCI (at-large 1yr, in HumArts: 2019-2021 seat)

vacant (HumArts: 2020-22) - or any faculty member eligible as at-large member

Academic Standards

Susanne Nimmrichter LACS (HumArts: Alternate: 2020-21)

Bylaws

Ollie Dreon EDFN (EdHS/Sen: 2019-21 (partial)) Greg Bowen ENGL (HumArts/Sen: 2020-22) Antonia Cardwell MATH (SciTech/Sen: 2020-22) David Owen GOVT (SocSci/Sen: 2019-21 (partial))

Aimee Miller CHEM (at-large 1yr, in Non/Sen: 2020-22 seat)

GERC

Wilfredo Valentin-Marquez LACS (HumArts 2020-2022) Abere Kassa MGMK (SocSci 2020-2022)

Joint Senate Conference

Teresa Hartmann NURS (Mem/Sen: 2020-2021)

UCPRC

Abere Kassa MGMK (SocSci 2020-2022)
Abdul Ibrahim EDFN (at-large 1yr, in SocSci 2019-2021 seat)