Protection of Minors
Protection of Minors
Millersville University and all of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education remain committed to ensuring that our campuses are safe places for learning, living, and working; you play an important role in that effort. A policy passed by the Board of Governors has further enhanced that commitment in the following ways that involve you, as an employee:
- Board of Governors Policy on the Protection of Minors
- Office of the Chancellor’s Procedure/Standard for Background Clearances and reporting Requirements
Protection of Minors on Campus
In a situation of suspected child abuse involving individuals under the age of 18, all employees are considered “mandated reporters” and have or will receive training from the University regarding the reporting of suspected child abuse. In the meantime, if there is a situation of suspected child abuse you must immediately make an oral report to Pennsylvania’s Department of Human Services (DHS), formerly named the Department of Public Welfare, by calling 1-800-932-0313. After an oral report is made, a written report must be made within 48 hours to DHS or the Lancaster County Children and Youth Agency. Immediately following that report, you must notify the Millersville University Police Officer in Charge by calling Lancaster County Dispatch 717-664-1180 and ask the Officer in Charge to notify the Chief of Police or Deputy Police.
Arrest and Conviction Disclosure
Related to the protection of minors on campus, all current employees will be required to report to the University if they have been arrested or convicted of crimes enumerated in the Child Protective Services Law, 23 Pa.C.S. §6344(c). Beginning December 31, 2014, you must contact our human resources office if you have been 1) arrested for or convicted of a reportable offense or if you have been 2) found or indicated as a perpetrator in a report of child abuse. You must provide such written notice within 72 hours of the arrest, conviction, or notification that you have been listed as a perpetrator in the statewide database. Use PASSHE’s 72-Hour Self-Reporting of Reportable Offenses. Failure to make a written notification as required by law could be a misdemeanor of the third degree and could subject you to discipline, including possible termination. Contact the Office of Human Resources 717-871-4950 for more information.
All current and prospective employees and volunteers will be required to have the following background clearance checks:
1) Act 34. A criminal history record check or statement from the Pennsylvania State Police indicating the individual has not been convicted of a reportable offense;
2) Act 151. Certification from the Department of Human Services as to whether the individual is named in the Statewide Database as a perpetrator in a pending child abuse investigation, a founded report, or an indicated report of child abuse; and
3) Act 114. A federal criminal history record information, including fingerprinting and review by the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of verifying the identity of the individual and obtaining a current record of any criminal arrests and convictions.
You may be asked to obtain the above background checks immediately if the University has reason to believe that you were arrested or convicted of one of the crimes enumerated in the new law.
We want to thank you for your continued commitment to keep our campus a safe and productive environment for learning and discovery.