# Millersville University Governance & Policies

Effective: October 1997

## University Governance/Human Resources APPOINTMENT PROCEDURES for VICE PRESIDENTS,

OTHER MEMBERS of the CABINET, and Deans

Approved: Cabinet, October 1997 Revised: Cabinet, January 26, 2010 Revised: Cabinet, March 28, 2022 Cabinet, October 17, 2022

Efforts should be made to appoint a search committee that includes diverse demographic representation, individuals from diverse backgrounds, and members who have demonstrated a commitment to diversity.

### Vice Presidents

1. Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs/Provost

Committee membership: Four (4) members of the University staff appointed by the President, six (6) faculty members elected by the faculty (at least one each from the four colleges, one non-college faculty representative, and one APSCUF representative), one (1) student elected by the Student Government Association (SGA), one (1) member of AFSCME and one (1) professional staff member represented by SCUPA appointed by the President (after consultation with the local AFSCME and SCUPA representatives) will meet to screen the candidates. The chairperson shall be appointed by the President.

Committee charge and appointment: The committee shall recommend a minimum of three (3) unranked candidates to the President for consideration. The appointment shall be made by the President.

2. Vice President for Student Affairs

Committee membership: Four (4) members of the University staff appointed by the President, three (3) faculty members elected by the faculty ((two selected by the President and one APSCUF representative), three (3) students elected by the SGA, one (1) member of AFSCME and one (1) professional staff member represented by SCUPA appointed by the President (after consultation with the local AFSCME and SCUPA representatives) will meet to screen the candidates The chairperson shall be appointed by the President.

Committee charge and appointment: The committee shall recommend a minimum of three (3) unranked candidates to the President for consideration. The appointment shall be made by the President.

3. Vice President for Finance and Administration

Committee membership: Four (4) members of the University staff appointed by the President, three (3) faculty (two selected by the President and one APSCUF representative), two (2) AFSCME representatives-one from Maintenance and Grounds and one from Clerical-appointed by the President (after consultation with the local AFSCME representative), one (1) representative from SCUPA appointed by the President (after consultation with the local SCUPA representatives), and one (1) representative from the university police shall meet to screen the candidates. The chairperson shall be appointed by the President.

Committee charge and appointment: The committee shall recommend a minimum of three (3) unranked candidates to the President for consideration. The appointment shall be made by the President

4. Vice President for University Advancement

Committee membership: Four (4) members of the University staff appointed by the President, three (3) faculty members (two selected by the President and one APSCUF representative), one (1) alumni representative, and one (1) student elected by the SGA shall meet to screen the candidates. The chairperson shall be appointed by the President.

Committee charge and appointment: The committee shall recommend a minimum of three (3) unranked candidates to the President for consideration. The appointment shall be made by the President.

5. Chief Technology Officer

Committee membership: Five (5) members of the University staff appointed by the President, three (3) faculty (two selected by the President and one APSCUF Representative), one (1) student elected by the SGA, one (1) representative from SCUPA appointed by the President (after consultation with the local SCUPA representatives), and one (1) AFSCME representative appointed by the President (after consultation with the local AFSCME president) shall meet to screen the candidates. The chairperson shall be appointed by the President.

Committee charge and appointment: The committee shall recommend a minimum of three (3) unranked candidates to the President for consideration. The appointment shall be made by the President.

6. Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer

Committee membership: Four (4) members of the University staff appointed by the President, three (3) faculty members (two selected by the President and one APSCUF representative), three (3) students elected by the SGA, and one (1) professional staff member represented by SCUPA appointed by the President (after consultation with the local SCUPA representative) shall meet to screen the candidates. The chairperson shall be appointed by the President.

Committee charge and appointment: The committee shall recommend a minimum of three (3) unranked candidates to the President for consideration. The appointment shall be made by the President.

#### Other Members of the Cabinet

Committee membership: Membership on the search committee for other members of the cabinet will be determined by the President based upon the duties of the position and the unique circumstances of a direct reporting relationship to the President. The chairperson shall be appointed by the President.

Committee charge and appointment: The committee shall recommend a minimum of three (3) unranked candidates to the President for consideration. The appointment shall be made by the President.

#### Deans

An elected representative of each department of the college of the Dean Search, one (1) representative from APSCUF, one (1) dean from one of the other colleges, one (1) other person appointed by the president, and one (1) student, majoring in one of the departments of that college, elected by the SGA, shall meet to screen the candidates. The chair of the search committee is selected by the President or the President's designee. The committee shall recommend at least three (3) unranked candidates to the provost for consideration. The appointment shall be made by the president.

#### **Exceptions to Above Selection Procedures**

Acting appointments to the Cabinet, deanships, and other management positions shall be made by the president of the University.