Millersville University Home

Office of Alumni Engagement

Honorary Alumnus/na Award



The Honorary Alumni Award is an award presented by Millersville University Alumni Association to individuals (non alumnus) who have performed continuous exemplary service to the University or made significant contributions of time, talent or wealth to the University. [This award was created in 1993.]


Living persons who are not classified as an alumnus/na, per University policy are eligible for this award.

Methods of Nomination

Nominations shall be sought from members of the Alumni Association and/or the public by way of announcements in the Millersville Review and other brochures/publications.

Nominations for the award may be made by any person, provided, however, that the Nominations and Awards Committee shall not be limited to the nominations submitted, but may, on its own, add to the list of nominees.


The deadline for nominations is always the third Friday of February. All nomination forms should be sent to:

Nominations & Awards Committee/MUAAc/o Office of Alumni Engagement, Millersville University, PO Box 1002, Millersville, PA 17551-0302E-mail: mualumni@millersville.eduFAX: 717.871.5050

Selection of Candidates

The Nominations and Awards Committee shall meet at the call of the Committee Chair to review nominations for the current year.

Number of Recipients

Ordinarily in any given year, no more than one (1) individual shall be honored. Nominations not acted upon in the current year may be held for reconsideration the following year.

Description of Award

An award shall be presented to an honoree.

Method of Presenting Award

The award will be presented by the President of the MU Alumni Association during the annual spring University Honors & Awards Convocation. The award recipient will be notified of their award beforehand.


Harvey Owen

Harvey Owen, a local entrepreneur and leader, took the first Director position at the Ware Center in downtown Lancaster in January 2011. He embodied the Millersville University motto of creativity, innovation and engagement by creating a robust and vibrant performing arts center with something to do almost every night of the week. He programmed film, cabaret, music, dance and visual arts and turned the Ware Center into a destination. He collaborated and partnered with many downtown businesses to cross promote, host events and create sponsorship opportunities for the financial health of the Ware Center. Through his leadership, Harvey took a very painful reminder of a building in bankruptcy to a pillar of the community and an example of the University’s commitment to the arts and this region. Harvey Owen is retiring at the end of July 2014.

Harvey is the most recent past president of the board of trustees of the Fulton Opera House Foundation, where he has served as a trustee for nearly a decade. He has also run his own consultant business in Lancaster since 1998 and has been a mentor for SCORE Lancaster, working for a long list of clients including ASSETS Lancaster, Lancaster Convention Center Authority,, Ephrata Playhouse in the Park, Keystone Cultural Center, the Lancaster Arts Hotel and the Lancaster Museum of Art. Owen has been an executive officer of several corporations including president of Molly’s Operating Corp., in Lancaster, and president/chief operating officer for NSI (a national trade association) and vice president of Gralla Publications in New York City, and chief operating officer of Sportscape, Inc. (a publishing and special events firm) in Massachusetts. He has a bachelor’s degree in business psychology from Wake Forest University.


Past Honorary Alumni Award Recipients

1993 Linda R. Caputo

1994 Sarah N. Vanderslice

1995 Jacqueline Reighard

1996 Dr. Gary W. Reighard

1997 John Herr

1998 Donald K. Roseman

1999 Marjorie A. Trout

2000 Dr. Paul H. Nichols

2001 Paul Wedel

2002 Dr. Gene A. Carpenter

2003 Dr. Joseph A. Caputo

2004 Ronald E. Frisbie

2005 Darlene I. Ford

2006 Dr. Betty J. Finney

2007 Dr. James P. Argires

2007 Dr. William B. McIlwaine

2008 W. Lee Eastwood

2009 Stanley Kabicinski

2009 Dr. Charles Winter

2010 Dr. Ralph G. Anttonen

2011 NO Recipient Named

2012 Dr. George Stine

2013 Dr. Francine G. McNairy

Nominate Nowawards