Past Civic Leadership Award Winners

Past Award Winners



MU Student: Ms. Ashley Christman

  • Has served in many leadership roles at two different colleges (education major)
  • Lifelong involvement with scouting - has served as a Girl Scout leader  as well as the program director for a Cub Scout day camp

Non-Profit Organization: Tabor Community Services (Bob Thomas - President)

  • Founded in 1968 by members of the Mennonite community to help low-income families and victims of racial discrimination find housing and manage their finances
  • Today, Tabor offers a wide array of services that serve more than 4,000 low-income residents of Lancaster County

Non-Profit Organization: Community Action Project (CAP) of Lancaster County

(Mark Esterbrook - C.E.O.)

  • Employs over 300 individuals who work in 32 programs at 22 locations throughout Lancaster County to serve the needs of 35,000 low-income residents per year
  • Champions the achievement of long-term self-sufficiency for individuals and families through services and advocacy targeting the elimination of poverty

MU Faculty/Staff: Dr. Kimberly Mahaffy

  • Serves as a professor in the Sociology Department and head of MU's Latino Studies program
  • Created the Millersville-Latino Community Mural Project, which culminated in the creation of two murals - one in the Student Memorial Center at MU and the other at Clipper Stadium in downtown Lancaster 

MU Faculty/Staff: Dr. Stacey Irwin

  • Serves as a professor in the Communication and Theatre Department, where she teaches a media writing course focused on raising awareness of locally-owned sustainable businesses
  • Assists students in running Project Green Lancaster, where she has connected over 150 students with over 100 businesses and individuals dedicated to sustainability in Lancaster County

Local/Regional Figure/MU Alum: Mr. Joe Vulopas

  • An English teacher at Cocalico High School - following a student's suicide, he challenged his students to establish  an organization  to prevent teen suicides
  • Aevidum, the organization born from his vision, has grown into a nationally-recognized program  promoting the treatment of depression in teens and the prevention of teen suicides

Lifetime Achievement: Dr. Melvin Allen

  • Founded the Black Student Union at Millersville University
  • Founded Project Forward Leap, a program to help deserving students who are socioeconomically disadvantaged have the same opportunities as their advantaged peers
  • Architect of the Civic and Community Engagement and Research Project at MU



Award for a Millersville University Student Leader
Jassinya Alvarado-Padilla, President of the Color of Teaching Program

Award for A Non-Profit Organization
Lancaster Area Victim Offender Reconciliation Program – LAVORP

Award for Local Leaders
Schirlyn Kamara and Saheeb Sabur, founded the Threshold Foundation, Inc.

Award for an Alumnus
Richard Moriarty ‘72

Award for a Faculty or Staff Member
Dr. Ruth Davis

Award for an International Leader
Dr. M. James Cosentino


Award for a Student Leader
Ms. Shannon Elizabeth Hickey

Award for an Alumnus
Mr. Thomas J. Baker

Award for a Faculty or Staff Member
Dr. Blaise Liffick and Ms. Alanna Berger

Award for a Local Leader
Dr. Albert Alley

Award for A Community Awareness Group
Millersville University-Penn Manor Cyber Partnership

Award for A Non-Profit Organization
Aaron’s Acres

Award for Faculty Emeriti
Dr. Betty J. Finney


Award for a Pre-College Student
Miss Kennedy Kulish, Operation Kisses for Kaedan

Awards for Student Leaders
Ms. Claire Leidig & Mr. Andrew Moyer for "Silencing The Hate"

Award for an Alumnus
Dr. Hugh Miller Herr

Award for a Faculty or Staff Member
Ms. Christina Miller, Assistant Professor, Art Department

Award for Local Leaders
Philip and Lindy Malin: Malin’s Monarchy

Award for a Regional Leader
Ms. Mary Ellen Kiernan

Award for a National Leader
Mr. Don Eberly

Award for a Non-Profit Organization
Mom’s House of Lancaster

Award for a Business Entity
Weber Advertising and Marketing