Millersville University MSCHE Accreditation Processes

Middle States 2020 Self-Study Process

Millersville University's Self-Study 2020 Report


Millersville launched its 2020 self-study process on Friday, December 15, 2017 with the first meeting of the 2020 Middle States Steering Committee (MSSC). The first task of the MSSC will be to create the self-study design which will include structure, institutional priorities and self-study outcomes, and a preliminary evidence inventory.

Middle States 2020 Self-Study Videos

Learn about Millersville University’s 2020 self-study process from members of the Middle States Steering...

The 2020 Middle States Self-Study process will be led by the Coordinating Team:

  • Dr. James Delle, Associate Provost (Co-Chair)
  • Dr. Laurie Hanich, Professor, Educational Foundations (Co-Chair)
  • Dr. Lisa Shibley, Assistant Vice President, Institutional Assessment and Planning (Coordinator)

Steering Committee membership includes the co-chairs of the four working groups:

Working Group on Standard 1 (Mission and Goals) and Standard 6 (Planning, Resources, and Institutional Improvement)

  • Mr. Scott Anderson (Associate Professor, Library)
  • Dr. Victor DeSantis (Interim Chief of Staff)

Working Group on Standard 2 (Ethics and Integrity) and Standard 7 (Governance, Leadership, and Administration)

  • Dr. Jennifer Wood (Associate Professor, Communication and Theatre)
  • Mr. Andy Welaish (Director, Library Operations)

Working Group on Standard 3 (Design and Delivery of the Student Learning Experience) and Standard 5 (Educational Effectiveness Assessment)

  • Dr. Lynn Marquez (Professor, Geology and General Education Coordinator)
  • Dr. George Drake (Dean, College of Education and Human Services)

Working Group on Standard 4 (Support of the Student Experience)

  • Dr. David Henriques (Assistant Professor, Academic Advisement & Student Development)
  • Dr. Janice Moore (Associate Dean, College of Graduate Studies and Adult Learning)

2020 Self Study Timeline


The process includes three phases:

Self-Study Design (July 2017 to September 2018)
Self-Study Process (September 2018 to January 2020)
Site Visit (September 13-16, 2020)

For a more detailed timeline, View PDF

  • Middle States Visit
    Dr. Sean McKitrick, Middle States Commission on Higher Education Vice President

    Millersville University received formal approval for the 2020 Self-Study Design in October 2018 after MSCHE Vice President Dr. Sean McKitrick visited campus on September 12, 2018. 

  • Current MSCHE Accreditation Status

    Millersville's current Middle State's accreditation status may be found in the MSCHE Statement of Accreditation Status.  

    • The Statement of Accreditation Status may be viewed HERE.
  • Self-Study Outcomes 2020

    The following highlight our 2020 draft self-study outcomes:

    • Reaffirm accreditation.
    • Focus on continuous improvement.
    • Engage in inclusive and transparent self-appraisal process.
    • Advance strategic planning to strengthen our future.
  • 2020 Self-Study Structure Overview
    See the diagram below for an overview of the 2020 Middle States Self-Study structure:
    diagram of self-study structure
  • Contact Information

    Please direct questions about the self-study to one of the following:

    MS. Kay Keen

    Administrative Assistant for Planning, Assessment, and Analysis

    363 Lyle Hall
    PO Box 1002
    Millersville, PA 17551-0302

    Dr. James Delle

    Acting Accreditation Liaison Officer and Associate Provost for Academic Administration

    Biemesderfer Executive Center
    PO Box 1002
    Millersville, PA 17551-0302