Scholarships & Awards

Elizabeth G. Botdorf Scholarship for English Studies. Awarded to two full-time freshmen and/or transfer students majoring in English. The students must volunteer at least five hours per semester for the English department. The scholarship is renewable provided the students maintain a 3.0 GPA.

Class of 1910 Scholarship. Awarded to a student for excellence in English at the end of the student’s third year.

Cynthia Dilgard Memorial Scholarship

Dilworth-McCullough English Scholarship. Awarded to a student who has achieved excellence in English literature.

Alice R. Fox Memorial Scholarship. Awarded to a student who has achieved excellence in English.

Frank R. Heavner Memorial Scholarship. Awarded to the English major who has the highest average in at least nine credits of linguistics courses.

The Russell C. Hughes Endowed English Scholarships.Awarded to two incoming freshman students majoring in English, for the period of time each is in good academic standing and majoring in English at Millersville University. Student must have a minimum academic average of 3.0 and have a history of participation in high school publications.

Sanders P. McComsey Scholarship. Established by the Class of 1917 and awarded to a student who excels in English, payable at the end of the junior year.

Elizabeth Smithgall Scholarship. Awarded to students who are ranked in the top 10% of their class, demonstrate financial need and have a native language other than English.

Nadine Thomas Journalism Scholarship. Awarded to a third or fourth year female journalism student. The recipient will be selected by a faculty committee from the English Department.