Scholarships and Awards

In addition to federal, state, and local sources of financial aid for university students, scholarships are available specifically for students majoring in a world language. Information on these scholarships are listed below:

Scholarship Listing

Award Name


D. Luke & Elva W. Biemesderfer Scholarship for Merit in Foreign Language

Awarded to an entering full-time freshman majoring in foreign language.

Ralph J. Hyson Memorial Award

Awarded to a senior French major considered by the department to be outstanding in the field of French studies.

The Beatrice M. Killough Endowment for Spanish Studies

Awarded to an entering freshman, enrolled in the Spanish, or Spanish-education curriculum.

Louis & Margaret Koppel Award in German Language & Literature

Awarded to a senior-level American student with a major in German.

Jean-Paul Levy Endowment

Used for financial aid for a graduate student in the summer French institute who has completed at least one summer at MU. Please contact Dr. Gaudry for more details.

Jacqueline Long French Scholarship Endowment

Awarded to an upper class student who has demonstrated interested in the study of the French language, culture, history, or art and has a minimum 3.0 GPA with demonstrated financial need.  

The Lina Ruiz y Ruiz Endowed Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to a junior student majoring in Spanish.

Irene Seadle German Section Award

Awarded to a senior German major.

Steve A. Walker Memorial Award

Awarded to one or more junior or senior Spanish majors.

Roy Lutz Winters Foreign Language Scholarship

Presented to an incoming freshman with an outstanding high school record who elects to major in foreign language.

Xenophile-Theodore Rupp Foreign Language Scholarship

Presented to a graduating senior for excellence in the field of foreign language.

The Prof. Charles Richard Beam Memorial German Scholarship

Awarded to a freshman, sophomore, junior or senior student with a major or minor in German.

Contact the Financial Aid Office, 717 871-5100 ( for more information.


2021 The Lina Ruiz Y Ruiz Memorial Award

The Lina Ruiz Y Ruiz Memorial Award for 2021 recipient is Jadon N. Barnett. This award is given to a junior student...

2021 Jean Paul Levy Scholarship

2021 Jean Paul Levy Scholarship awarded to Kiera A. Kirchner. This award is given to a student pursuing a...

2021 Sophomore of the Year

2021 Sophomore of the Year awarded to Katherine D. Pheysey. The award is given typically to a student with a high...